Champagne: the 40 new communes

Champagne: the 40 new communes News Wine News
  • Monday 17 March 2008

The 40 new communes proposed for inclusion into the AOC champagne growing area have been named in the local press, prior to their official publication by the French wine regulator, the Institut National de l'Origine et de la Qualité (INAO).

The official list is to be published in the next 10 to 15 days.

The majority of new communes are in the Marne department, one of the original ‘départements’ created in March 1790, during the French Revolution.

It includes part of the historic province of Champagne. The old province system was superseded by the existing system of regions, and the province Champagne is now part of the region of Champagne-Ardenne.

The communes named in the Marne are: Baslieux-les-Fismes, Blacy, Boissy-le-Repos, Bouvancourt, Breuil-sur-Vesle, Bussy-le-Repos, Champfleury, Courlandon, Courcy, Courdemanges, Fismes, Huiron, La-Ville-sous-Orbais, Le-Thoult-Trosnay, Loivre, Montmirail, Mont-sur-Courville, Peas, Romain, Saint-Loup, Soulanges, Ventelay.

The communes named in the Aube department, which also includes part of the historic province of Champagne are: Arrelles, Balnot-la-Grange, Bossancourt, Bouilly, Etourvy, Fontvannes, Javernant, Laines-au-Bois, Macey, Messon, Prugny, Saint-Germain-l'Epine, Souligny, Torvilliers, Villery.

In the Aisne area the commune of Marchais-en-Brie, and in the Haute-Marne there is Champcourt and Harricourt.

Wine News

Wine News

Daily wine news - the latest breaking wine news from around the world

Related Topics