Wine Intelligence starts wine business awards

10 for 10 Wine Intelligence Business Awards, Summergate Fine Wines, Symington Family Estates, Symington Family Estates, Drops of God, manga News Wine News
  • Sunday 4 March 2012

A new international awards scheme aims to recognise the outstanding contribution of 10 individuals to the world of wine over the past decade.

Drops of God

Drops of God: 'significant contribution'

A diverse array of 30 people have been nominated for the 10 for 10 Wine Intelligence Business Awards, from critics and journalists such as Lynne Sheriff MW, chair of the Institute of Masters of Wine, consultant winemaker Michel Rolland, Miguel Torres of Penedes and Pablo Álvarez of Vega Sicilia, Casella Wines chief John Casella, to Yuko and Shin Kibayashi, creators of the Japanese manga comic Drops of God, and Dr Ann Noble, professor of oenology at UC Davis.

Held as part of research company Wine Intelligence’s 10th birthday celebrations, the awards will be decided by a panel of 10 judges, among them Summergate Fine Wines managing partner Ian Ford and Paul Symington, joint MD of Symington Family Estates and Decanter Man of the Year 2012.

Wine Intelligence said the awards were designed ‘to celebrate the achievements of those individuals who have made a significant contribution to the business of wine over the past 10 years’.

The company said of the 30 nominees: ‘What draws them together is that, through their efforts, our industry as a whole has benefited.’

The 10 winners will be announced at a series of 10 events hosted by Wine Intelligence between March and November this year, in locations across Europe, Asia, North and South America.

The first event takes place at the ProWein wine trade fair in Dusseldorf on 6 March, including a seminar programme focusing on doing business in China, Japan and South Korea, and wine as a luxury product.

Since its inception in 2002, Wine Intelligence has grown to a team of 26 people working in five countries, conducting research in 16 wine-consuming markets and reporting in six languages.

The  30 nominees (in alphabetical order):

Pablo Álvarez: Owner, Vega Sicilia
Tim Atkin MW: Journalist and Wine Judge
Gerard Basset OBE, MS, MW: Owner, Hotel Terravina
Su Birch CEO: Wines of South Africa
Ross Brown: Executive Director, Brown Brothers
John Casella MD: Casella Wines
Eduardo Chadwick: Owner, Viña Errazuriz
Michael Cox: European Director, Wines of Chile UK
Rafael Del Rey: Director, Observatorio Español de Mercado de Vino
Li Demei: Lecturer in Oenology, Beijing Agricultural College
Sir George Fistonich: Owner and MD, Villa Maria Estate
Eduardo Guilisasti: CEO, Viña Concha y Toro
Ian Harris: CEO, Wine & Spirit Education Trust
Etienne Hugel: Winemaker, Hugel & Fils
Eric Levine: Founder/Owner, Cellartracker
Ernst Loosen: Owner, Dr. Loosen
Anthony Madigan: Editor, Wine Business Monthly (Australia)
Archie McLaren: Founder, Central Coast Wine Classic
Dr. Ann Noble Professor of Oenology, UC Davis
Chester Osborn Owner, d’Arenburg
Robert Parker Journalist
John Peller CEO Andrew Peller Ltd
Paulo Pong Managing Director, Altaya Group
Michel Remondat Founder, Vitisphere
Michel Rolland Oenologist
Lynne Sherriff MW Chairman, Institute of Masters of Wine
Shu Okimoto & Tadashi Agi (Kibayashi Shin & Yuko) Creators, Drops of God series
Moshe Spak Founder, Terravino wine competition, Israel
Miguel Torres President, Bodegas Miguel Torres
Gary Vaynerchuk Founder,

Wine News

Wine News

Daily wine news - the latest breaking wine news from around the world

Related Topics