Chianti Classico

Chianti is a red wine produced in Tuscany, Italy. For a wine to be labelled Chianti it must be produced with at least 80% Sangiovese grapes.

The Chianti area comprises of seven sub-areas: Classico, Colli Aretini, Colli Fiorentini, Colline Pisane, Colli Sensei, Montalbano and Rùfina.

Chinati bottles often include a picture of a black rooster (known in Italian as a gallo nero) to signify the producer is a member of an association in the Classico sub-area that share marketing costs.

Chianti which has been aged for 38 months may be labelled as Riseva, with those that meet more specific requirements (higher alcohol content and lower yield) may be labelled as Chianti Superiore.

Currently, Chianti Classico’s ruling council is in the process of creating a new top-tier classification, that is yet to be named, to show-off the region’s improved quality.

Marchese Piero Antinori

Italian wine tasting with the experts

25th May 2012

Watch how the real experts taste fine Italian wine. Featuring wines from Italy’s top wineries: Antinori, Isole e Olena & Proprietà Sperino, Pieropan and Allegrini with commentary from Marchese...

More from: Videos