Chianti Classico

Chianti is a red wine produced in Tuscany, Italy. For a wine to be labelled Chianti it must be produced with at least 80% Sangiovese grapes.

The Chianti area comprises of seven sub-areas: Classico, Colli Aretini, Colli Fiorentini, Colline Pisane, Colli Sensei, Montalbano and Rùfina.

Chinati bottles often include a picture of a black rooster (known in Italian as a gallo nero) to signify the producer is a member of an association in the Classico sub-area that share marketing costs.

Chianti which has been aged for 38 months may be labelled as Riseva, with those that meet more specific requirements (higher alcohol content and lower yield) may be labelled as Chianti Superiore.

Currently, Chianti Classico’s ruling council is in the process of creating a new top-tier classification, that is yet to be named, to show-off the region’s improved quality.

Richard Baudains unchartered Italy

Richard Baudains' top 10 most overlooked Italian wine styles

13th April 2012

When thinking of Italian wine, Amarone, Barolo and Chianti may be what most readily springs to mind, but Richard Baudains reveals a treasure trove of original yet overlooked wines just waiting to...

chianti classico risever 2007, chianti, chianti classico, 2007

Chianti Classico Riserva 2007: panel tasting results

3rd February 2012

With 90% of wines recommended, you'd think our judges would be estatic. But criticisms arose about the presence of new oak, international varieties spoiling typicity, and the riserva category in...