How many wine regions on the UNESCO list have you ticked off? Here is some inspiration for 2018, with links to full travel guides compiled by our contributors and in-house editorial team...


travel, Unesco

travel, Unesco

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) identifies cultural and natural examples of heritage around the globe with the goal of protecting and preserving them for future generations.

The organisation was founded in November 1945, just after the end of World War II, as a way to nurture humanity and heritage by developing ‘the intellectual and moral solidarity of mankind’.

Sites that qualify must have ‘outstanding value to humanity’. Once a site has been accepted, UNESCO offers everything from technical assistance and public awareness to professional training and emergency assistance to preserve sites.

UNESCO has 195 member states, while its World Heritage Committee, which meets yearly to select new sites and allocate funds as needed, has 21 member nations.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, a treaty that has become the foremost international legal tool in support of the conservation of the world’s cultural and natural heritage. Words: Katie Kelly Bell

For more information, visit

Back to main page.

  1. 1. Champagne
  2. 2. About UNESCO
Page 2 of 2 - Show Full List