{"api":{"host":"https:\/\/pinot.decanter.com","authorization":"Bearer MDk5ZDEyYTk2MWNlNmNlYjM2MWJjM2ExMzg5YzZlZDQwZjFmN2IwYjllMjliMzUxYWQ5ZWZlNmU4Mjc2M2EyMg","version":"2.0"},"piano":{"sandbox":"false","aid":"6qv8OniKQO","rid":"RJXC8OC","offerId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","offerTemplateId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","wcTemplateId":"OTOW5EUWVZ4B"}}

AWRI wins prestigious O’Shea Award

The coveted Maurice O'Shea award has been won by the Australian Wine Research Institute.

The award, founded in 1990 by highly-rated Hunter Valley producer McWilliam’s in honour of legendary McWilliam’s winemaker, the late Maurice O’Shea, is presented to ‘an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to the Australian wine industry.’

The first winner of the prize, in 1990, was Grange founder Max Schubert. He was followed by such luminaries as Len Evans, James Halliday, Hazel Murphy (credited with single-handedly creating the UK market for Australian wines), and Petaluma founder Brian Croser.

The Australian Wine Research Institute is part of the University of Adelaide and is dedicated to providing research and development services to the Australian wine industry. Its mission statement says it aims to be ‘the world’s premier wine research institute’.

Australian Wine Research Institute

Written by Adam Lechmere8 August 2002

Latest Wine News