In association with Consorzio Tutela Lugana DOC
Lugana map

The Lugana appellation embraces the famously beautiful towns of Sirmione, Desenzano, Peschiera, Lonato, and Pozzolengo which lies inland. It straddles two provinces: 90% of the vineyards are in the province of Brescia, and the remaining 10% in the province of Verona – including Peschiera with its sub-zone San Benedetto di Lugana.

Lugana conjures holidays, sunbathing by the lake, strolling casually among the winding lanes of its spectacular villages, and indulging in good food and excellent wine at traditional local trattorias. It is interesting to discover how Lugana’s strategic value was protected back in ancient times by a series of castles: Sirmione, Desenzano, Pozzolengo, the fortress at Peschiera, the Rocca di Lonato. It’s worth climbing the majestic panoramic tower of San Martino della Battaglia to enjoy breathtaking views of the vineyards.

Lugana at a glance:

DOC Since 1967

Location Hinterland of the southern shore of Lake Garda; vineyards mostly in Lombardy, but around 300ha in Veneto

Area in production (2016) 1,873ha – more planted but not yet in production; 130 producers produce about 16m bottles

Grapes Principal variety Turbiana (named Trebbiano di Lugana up to 2005); a wine may contain up to 10% of other non-aromatic varieties such as Chardonnay, Incrocio Manzoni or Pinot Bianco

Styles Lugana Brut, Lugana, Lugana Superiore, Lugana Riserva, Lugana Vendemmia Tardiva