{"api":{"host":"https:\/\/pinot.decanter.com","authorization":"Bearer NTViNDcwOGQ3YmI0OGM5YjQ2NGY0ODQyMzcyOTY2NWUyZmJjMWNiZjNkYjQ3MTVhNWQyZjFmYzVmMTgzYTc4Yg","version":"2.0"},"piano":{"sandbox":"false","aid":"6qv8OniKQO","rid":"RJXC8OC","offerId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","offerTemplateId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","wcTemplateId":"OTOW5EUWVZ4B"}}

Louis Roederer Wine Writers’ Awards 2015 winners announced

The winners of the Louis Roederer International Wine Writers' Awards 2015 were announced last night, with Decanter contributor Ian D'Agata claiming a prize.

Native Grapes of Italy

D’Agata’s award winning book, Native Wine Grapes of Italy

Decanter’s Italian expert Ian D’Agata won the award for International Wine Book of the Year for Native Wine Grapes of Italy.

D’Agata, the Decanter World Wine Awards Regional Chair for Regional Italy, who regularly contributes to the magazine as a writer, panel tasting judge and speaker at Decanter Fine Wine Encounters, received his award from sponsor Domaine Faiveley at a ceremony in London last night.

Fellow Decanter contributors Jane Anson and Margaret Rand were both nominated for the International Wine Feature Writer of the Year. This award, sponsored by Domaines Ott, was won by Tim Atkin MW, who has also written for the magazine.

Photographer Mick Rock, whose picture of Steven Spurrier’s Bride Valley Vineyard featured in Decanter’s April 2015 issue, missed out on the Louis Roederer Artistry of Wine Award, which was won by Andrew Barrow.

Alder Yarrow, who was nominated in both the Online Communicator and International Wine Book categories, won the Chairman’s Award – given at the discretion of chairman of judges Charles Metcalfe.

Executive vice-president of Champagne Louis Roederer, Michel Janneau, said that while entries were down on previous years, there were still 140 candidates from 70 countries vying for the seven awards on offer.

Other winners were: Dan Keeling (Louis Roederer Emerging Wine Writer of the Year); Francis Percival (Pio Cesare Food & Wine Writer of the Year) and Victoria Moore (Ramos Pinto Online Wine Communicator of the Year and Louis Roederer Wine Columnist of the Year).

Latest Wine News