Beaujolais is a Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) wine, made south of Burgundy. The main difference with the great wines of Burgundy is the use of the grape Gamay instead of Pinot Noir.

Above Beaujolais AOC, and Beaujolais-Villages AOC, there are 10 village crus.

beaujolais cru map

Beaujolais crus: the facts

Total vine plantings (2013) 6,191ha; Brouilly 1,257ha; Chénas 249ha; Chiroubles 334ha; Côte de Brouilly 340ha; Fleurie 914ha; Juliénas 578ha;
Morgon 1,114ha; Moulin-à-Vent 717ha; Régnié 368ha; St-Amour 319ha
Total production 35 million bottles
Exports 20%
Structure approximately 1,350 declared
producers, 150 négociants