{"api":{"host":"https:\/\/pinot.decanter.com","authorization":"Bearer ZGQzZGRhNWY0MjhjNDg0OTZiZDI4NDk3YzUyZGU1MTc4MjdhMjY3M2VkMTZlYzY4YTZiODY1MWVjZGYyOWQ3NA","version":"2.0"},"piano":{"sandbox":"false","aid":"6qv8OniKQO","rid":"RJXC8OC","offerId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","offerTemplateId":"OFPHMJWYB8UK","wcTemplateId":"OTOW5EUWVZ4B"}}

DWWA 2024 party highlights

DWWA threw a celebratory party with more than 200 wine experts to raise a glass to another successful year of judging.

Decanter World Wine Awards (DWWA) judging is officially complete, with 243 international judges having in the past two weeks assessed more than 18,000 wines.

To celebrate 21 years of judging DWWA threw a party, which brought together more than 200 industry experts, to raise a glass to another successful year.

Held at London’s Vinoteca City, the celebratory evening included live music, Bolney English fizz, fresh oysters, canapés, cocktails and beers from Amathus Drinks alongside a DWWA 2023 Platinum medal-winning showcase to enjoy.

The evening started with a welcome speech from DWWA Co-Chair Sarah Jane Evans MW who helped introduce the new DWWA Legacy Award – an award to recognise judges who have been involved in the competition for 15 years or longer. A special Legacy Award engraved Decanter was gifted to 47 judges in recognition of their service.

Scroll down to see photo highlights

Among them, we honoured the late Philip Tuck MW for his longstanding contribution and commitment.

‘For myself and for quite a few people in this room, becoming a Master of Wine only happened with Philip’s help. He was a really wonderful, penetrating and inspiring teacher. Since we all have glasses in our hands, and for everyone who’s celebrating 15 years, and for Philip – cheers,’ said Evans.

Discover below the full list of long-standing DWWA judges and photo highlights from the night.

Find out results from this year’s judging on Wednesday 19th June on Decanter.com

DWWA Legacy Award Recipients

  • Alessandro Marchesan
  • Andrea Briccarello
  • Andrew Jefford
  • Andy Howard MW
  • Anthony Rose
  • Arabella Woodrow MW
  • Barbara Philip MW
  • Benjamin Llewelyn
  • Beverley Blanning MW
  • Dr Caroline Gilby MW
  • Christine Parkinson
  • Darrel Joseph
  • Dominique Vrigneau
  • Ed Adams MW
  • Ferran Centelles
  • Fiona McDonald
  • Gerd Stepp
  • Igor Sotric
  • Jim Budd
  • Justin Howard-Sneyd MW
  • Justin Knock MW
  • Keith Isaac MW
  • Luis Capitao
  • Marcel Orford-Williams
  • Matthew Wilkin MS
  • Matthieu Longuère MS
  • Michael Garner
  • Michael Hill Smith AM MW
  • Mike Ritchie MW
  • Nick Room
  • Nigel Wilkinson MS
  • Pedro Ballesteros Torres MW
  • Peter Richards MW
  • Philip Tuck MW
  • Pierre Mansour
  • Poh Tiong Ch’ng
  • Rebecca Palmer
  • Richard Baudains
  • Richard Mayson
  • Robert Gorjak
  • Roger Jones
  • Ronan Sayburn MS
  • Sarah Ahmed
  • Sarah Jane Evans MW
  • Simon Field MW
  • Stephen Brook
  • Tom Forrest